DoddPower
10 years ago

As long as we are all ranting at least let me say that I have been asking for a top safety in the draft for 2 years now. I wanted Harrison Smith (you can check the archives) and I wanted one this year. I was told because we didn't address the need in the draft it is because they didn't see it as a problem. Well guess what they were completely wrong twice. Our safeties need help big time. We may never find another Nick Collins, but we cannot go from his level of talent to what we have now and expect another Super Bowl.

Originally Posted by: TheKanataThrilla 

I get the point, but the safety play will improve with Burnett back there. A team missing their best safety will always leave something to be desired.

The other safety position could still be improved, but hopefully McMillian can develop into that role one Burnett is back. I have no faith in Jennings though, and wish we had better depth there. To be fair though, it's always a trade off. Had the Packers possibly upgraded the safety position, it could leave another position thin, such as OLB or DL. Jolly is certainly helping with the defensive line issues, but no one could truly expect that. The jury is still out on Nick Perry, but without him, the Packers would be in even worse shape. At least he played decent against the run and contained the outside fairly well against the 49'ers.
DoddPower
10 years ago

Based on these numbers, add the two sacks (I counted 3, but I guess they called it a tuck and run for a loss), there were 41 drop backs, of which there were 7 pressures and 2 sacks. So, Kaepernick was under pressure 22% of his pass plays, instead of the 0% (all day) many have intimated.

Originally Posted by: play2win