KRK
  • KRK
  • Veteran Member
4 years ago
Porforis pointed out :

[Re Social Security]Even if you don't do that, it won't mathematically function simply because of people paying in versus paying out. 1%ers collecting social security are a drop in the bucket compared to sheer money in versus out.

I couldn't agree more....its a Ponzi scheme...and the youth get stuck with the tab.

That's a pretty weird way of comparing the two. Where are you getting the figures for average starting salaries for people coming out of undergrad programs with business degrees, and how is that average salary determined? First job in-field after graduation? First job after graduation? Best job after 2 years?

Sorry I should have been more clear on my methodology. I took the average starting salary from where I graduated (which is a bit light as a business major will make more than a liberal arts major)

On the technology angle, when you (I'm assuming, no clue how old you are but I'm 32) and I were getting out of college, internet and a cellphone were not basically mandatory things you needed if you wanted to function in the world and apply for jobs. You're going to get weird looks if you don't list a cell number. Higher standard of living, but also higher expenses to reach that standard of living.

I am old, 63. True the internet and a cell phone are necessary, but they enable you to have a much higher quality of life: entertainment (music, books, movies), communication (it was a special thing to be able to talk with friends and parents who weren't local) If your grandparents are alive ask them how a lower level income person lives NOW versus how lower level income persons lived when they were younger.

Higher standard of living, but also higher expenses to reach that standard of living.

A true statement, but an exponentially higher standard of living vs. the cost.