JustJeff
11 years ago
Hi I’m JustJeff
I’ve been a Packers’ fan since the mid-60’s.
I’m a market analyst in central Virginia, where I’ve been since I was too young to remember.

I told this story back at Julie's World (the old Press-Gazette forums). At that time, I knew that I could find the exact date. I Google'd and ended up amazed at what I found. It was more difficult to find this time (because I found it by accident the first time), and I thought it might be gone (I'll get back to that in a moment).

I was barely old enough to start taking an interest in sports. It was Sunday October 17, 1965. I heard a great commotion in the den. It was my mom & dad hollering at the television. My dad grew up in Detroit and moved to Virginia during his high school years and was a Lyin's fan. My mom thought Jim Taylor was the greatest player to ever don a set of cleats. So they were both talkin' smack.

When I walked into the room and asked what was going on, my dad said that the Lyin's were beating the Packers and that I should be a Lyin's fan. My mom responded by saying that I didn't want to root for the Lyin's because the Green Bay Packers were THE team. I just liked the sound of "Green Bay Packers" and I agreed with my mom.

It was late in the game when I sat down to watch. It wasn't long before Starr connected with Carroll Dale for a long TD to take the lead. That sealed the deal. Dale is a Virginia native, played college ball at VaTech (my uncle told me about that back then and it made Dale my favorite Packer of that time). Several guys in my neighborhood were also Packers fans, including Henry Jordan's nephews.

Now back to my original point... what was it that amazed me? I stumbled onto footage of the very game! The very last play on this stock footage loop is the play that made me a Packers addict that isn't looking for a cure 😎
Packers Whip Lyin's October 17, 1965