Green Bay Packers Forum

Welcome to your Green Bay Packers Online Community!

Since 2006, PackersHome has been providing a unique experience for fans.
Your participation is greatly anticipated!
Login or Register.
10 Pages«<56789>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Zero2Cool  
#61 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 12:17:51 AM(UTC)
Rank: Premier Member

Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Gold: 2015Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Bronze: 2016ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI
Applause Given: 2,502
Applause Received: 4,049
I'd like to use an array.

The array would be declared like this...
$varArray(0 to 16, 2)



$varArray(x, 1) = $strGame
$varArray(x, 2) = $strSelection

Then I'd use a for loop to go through each and send each to the db. There's more to this, obviously, but is this possible with PHP?
Offline Zero2Cool  
#62 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 12:59:23 AM(UTC)
Rank: Premier Member

Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Gold: 2015Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Bronze: 2016ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI
Applause Given: 2,502
Applause Received: 4,049
I hate PHP. Hate.
Offline dhpackr  
#63 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 9:02:37 AM(UTC)
Rank: Registered

Joined: 12/12/2007(UTC)
Applause Given: 36
Applause Received: 36
Zero,
as far as using an array, the best way to use an array would be to populate a drop down list. radio buttons and drop down lists kind of work in the same manner.

you can give the end user many choices, but only one selection will be processed.

do not make it harder than you have to. using radio buttons will work fine, you'll just need 16 variables.

the code I posted will work for you. if you want to show the selection in a db instead of a 1 or 0, maybe use a drop down list instead. like this

&lt;tr&gt;
&lt;td&gt;02&lt;/td&gt;
&lt;td&gt;
&lt;?----start php

$01s = array("Packers","Bengals");

if (empty($01s[0])) {
echo '&lt;input type="text" name="01" class="textbox" value="' . $01. '" maxlength="255" /&gt;' . "\n";
}
else {
?>
&lt;select name="01" class="textbox"&gt;
&lt;option value=""&gt;-- please select --&lt;/option&gt;
&lt;?
// Print out position options
for ($i = 0; $i &lt; count($01s); $i++) {
echo '&lt;option value="' . $01s[$i] . '"';
if($01s[$i]==$01){echo " selected ";}
echo "&gt;" . $01s[$i] . "&lt;/option&gt; \n";
}
?>
&lt;/select&gt;
&lt;?
}
?&gt;
&lt;/td&gt;
&lt;/tr&gt;
Offline dhpackr  
#64 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 9:59:20 AM(UTC)
Rank: Registered

Joined: 12/12/2007(UTC)
Applause Given: 36
Applause Received: 36
" said: Go to Quoted Post
I hate PHP. Hate.


lol, what u learned in school only scratches the surface of programming. I was lucky to have worked with the guy that hired me out of school. Dude was completely insane. totally bipolar, but man did he know vb6, vb.net, classic asp, IIS, sql. he gave me a book on coldfusion, a 40 hour week and told me to create some database driven order forms. I did it.

next was classic asp, which I wish I could've stuck with. safe, secure database driven websites with nothing but notepad. I was given a 40 work week to create some database driven order forms, and I completed that project and 1 other. after that i did a financial program in vb6 and then another in vb.net that was sold for 5 grand multiple times.

that was in my first 6 months of work. then came ektron and vb.net. i did that and was getting really good with vb.net for bout the next 9 months when i was laid off. i really think a senior programmer got a little nervous about how I was attacking all my projects and pulled the cord on my job to try and save his.

but a month after i got laid off i got this part time php gig. no experience in php, no training, just cut loose on live web forms, and service tickets.

just stick with it and you will get it. just remember, you may be editing as many as 3-4 files and several functions in each file every time you try and add something or change something.

this program will take some maintenance, which is why I am interested. I could always use another job reference, and would be willing to write some code for you.

if you decide to whip it yourself, cool, i wish you the best.
lol, little different than vb.net and using datagrids, which BTW, I may have some Ektron opportunities coming up.

you'll be fine. put the code i gave you in the file you sent me. that file you sent to me, that is what I would consider a "TEMPLATE" file.

the validation code would go in a class file.
Offline Zero2Cool  
#65 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 10:05:09 AM(UTC)
Rank: Premier Member

Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Gold: 2015Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Bronze: 2016ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI
Applause Given: 2,502
Applause Received: 4,049
Why is everything so freaking complicated in PHP?

in VB ... piece of cake!

Code:
'declare array
Public strMaster(0 To 4000, 3) As String

'increment index
x = x + 1

'fill array
strMaster(x, 1) = strGrame
strMaster(x, 2) = strSelection


'and to pull the data out
For i As Integer = 0 To x
     strSendGame = strMaster(i, 1)
     strSendSelection = strMaster(i, 2)
            'do work here to send each game number and selection to db
Next x



Now why can't I do that with PHP? From what I've seen of it, PHP is a very tool enriched language but how do you increment the darn index of the array dynamically?
Offline Zero2Cool  
#66 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 10:10:32 AM(UTC)
Rank: Premier Member

Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Gold: 2015Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Bronze: 2016ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI
Applause Given: 2,502
Applause Received: 4,049
" said: Go to Quoted Post
" said: Go to Quoted Post
I hate PHP. Hate.


lol, what u learned in school only scratches the surface of programming. I was lucky to have worked with the guy that hired me out of school. Dude was completely insane. totally bipolar, but man did he know vb6, vb.net, classic asp, IIS, sql. he gave me a book on coldfusion, a 40 hour week and told me to create some database driven order forms. I did it.

next was classic asp, which I wish I could've stuck with. safe, secure database driven websites with nothing but notepad. I was given a 40 work week to create some database driven order forms, and I completed that project and 1 other. after that i did a financial program in vb6 and then another in vb.net that was sold for 5 grand multiple times.

that was in my first 6 months of work. then came ektron and vb.net. i did that and was getting really good with vb.net for bout the next 9 months when i was laid off. i really think a senior programmer got a little nervous about how I was attacking all my projects and pulled the cord on my job to try and save his.

but a month after i got laid off i got this part time php gig. no experience in php, no training, just cut loose on live web forms, and service tickets.

just stick with it and you will get it. just remember, you may be editing as many as 3-4 files and several functions in each file every time you try and add something or change something.

this program will take some maintenance, which is why I am interested. I could always use another job reference, and would be willing to write some code for you.

if you decide to whip it yourself, cool, i wish you the best.
lol, little different than vb.net and using datagrids, which BTW, I may have some Ektron opportunities coming up.

you'll be fine. put the code i gave you in the file you sent me. that file you sent to me, that is what I would consider a "TEMPLATE" file.

the validation code would go in a class file.


It's so freaking frustrating! Everything I've learned with programming, doesn't work with PHP!! I can't even figure out how to increment the index of a flipping two dimensional array.

Another reason I like VB, the IDE can be used as a tool with intellisense. I'm not so lucky with PHP, even dreamweaver is no help, lol.


I did try the code you gave me and it didn't work. It was sending '0' or '1' and if it wasn't checked, it did do anything. Not sure how I screwed it up, but I must have somewhere along the lines.

If I have to make a 16 Week##.php files, I'm down with that. But I need one to work first in the scope I'm aiming for.

I thought once I had the link issue resolved it'd be a snap because all languages use arrays in a similar fashion. WRONG! lol
Offline dhpackr  
#67 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 10:21:56 AM(UTC)
Rank: Registered

Joined: 12/12/2007(UTC)
Applause Given: 36
Applause Received: 36
" said: Go to Quoted Post
Why is everything so freaking complicated in PHP?

in VB ... piece of cake!

Code:
'declare array
Public strMaster(0 To 4000, 3) As String

'increment index
x = x + 1

'fill array
strMaster(x, 1) = strGrame
strMaster(x, 2) = strSelection


'and to pull the data out
For i As Integer = 0 To x
     strSendGame = strMaster(i, 1)
     strSendSelection = strMaster(i, 2)
            'do work here to send each game number and selection to db
Next x



Now why can't I do that with PHP? From what I've seen of it, PHP is a very tool enriched language but how do you increment the darn index of the array dynamically?


like this
for ($i = 0; $i &lt; count($01s); $i++) {
echo '&lt;option value="' . $01s[$i] . '"';
if($01s[$i]==$01){echo " selected ";}
echo "&gt;" . $01s[$i] . "&lt;/option&gt; \n";
Offline dhpackr  
#68 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 10:36:41 AM(UTC)
Rank: Registered

Joined: 12/12/2007(UTC)
Applause Given: 36
Applause Received: 36
" said: Go to Quoted Post


I did try the code you gave me and it didn't work. It was sending '0' or '1' and if it wasn't checked, it did do anything. Not sure how I screwed it up, but I must have somewhere along the lines.



ok, that is what a radio button will do. if it is checked, you will see a 1 in the database. if not a 0 will appear. then you need to add that validation function so the user has to make a selection. Next you can write a function to display the users picks on a web page. just copy and paste the code into another file to display the selection.

if you want to see the selection in the database, i would suggest using a drop down list, populate with an array and then recycle this code 15 times with different variables and different arrays.

here is two picks


&lt;tr&gt;
&lt;td &gt;Pick1&lt;/td&gt;
&lt;td&gt;
&lt;?

$01s = array("Packers","Bengals");

if (empty($01s[0])) {
echo '&lt;input type="text" name="01" class="textbox" value="' . $01. '" maxlength="255" /&gt;' . "\n";
}
else {
?>
&lt;select name="01" class="textbox"&gt;
&lt;option value=""&gt;-- please select --&lt;/option&gt;
&lt;?
// Print out position options
for ($i = 0; $i &lt; count($01s); $i++) {
echo '&lt;option value="' . $01s[$i] . '"';
if($01s[$i]==$01){echo " selected ";}
echo "&gt;" . $01s[$i] . "&lt;/option&gt; \n";
}
?>
&lt;/select&gt;
&lt;?
}
?&gt;
&lt;/td&gt;
&lt;/tr&gt;
&lt;tr&gt;
&lt;td &gt;Pick2&lt;/td&gt;
&lt;td&gt;
&lt;?

$02s = array("Vikings","Lions");

if (empty($02s[0])) {
echo '&lt;input type="text" name="02" class="textbox" value="' . $02. '" maxlength="255" /&gt;' . "\n";
}
else {
?>
&lt;select name="02" class="textbox"&gt;
&lt;option value=""&gt;-- please select --&lt;/option&gt;
&lt;?
// Print out position options
for ($i = 0; $i &lt; count($02s); $i++) {
echo '&lt;option value="' . $02s[$i] . '"';
if($02s[$i]==$02){echo " selected ";}
echo "&gt;" . $02s[$i] . "&lt;/option&gt; \n";
}
?>
&lt;/select&gt;
&lt;?
}
?&gt;
&lt;/td&gt;
&lt;/tr&gt;


like i wrote, if you want the actual selection text to show up in the database, use a dropdownlist.

a radio button will display a 1 or 0 in the database, not the text, so i think my code worked properly.
Offline Zero2Cool  
#69 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 10:57:36 AM(UTC)
Rank: Premier Member

Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Gold: 2015Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Bronze: 2016ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI
Applause Given: 2,502
Applause Received: 4,049
" said: Go to Quoted Post
like this
[php]
for ($i = 0; $i &lt; count($01s); $i++) {
echo '&lt;option value="' . $01s[$i] . '"';
if($01s[$i]==$01){echo " selected ";}
echo "&gt;" . $01s[$i] . "&lt;/option&gt; \n";
[/php]



That is way over my head and doesn't look remotely close to what I posted (which makes sense cuz mine was in .NET), lol.

Isn't there a curly bracket missing in there? I see two open and only one close?
Offline Zero2Cool  
#70 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2009 11:28:15 AM(UTC)
Rank: Premier Member

Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Gold: 2015Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Bronze: 2016ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI
Applause Given: 2,502
Applause Received: 4,049
[php]$int = 0;
// see if the GET variable "picks" is set
if(isset($_GET["picks"]))
{
// if picks is equal to "yes" proceed
if($_GET["picks"] == "yes")
{
echo "&lt;strong&gt;You picked the following winners:&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;";
// if variable $x is less than the total number of games, add 1 to $x
for($x = 0; $x &lt;= 16; $x++)
{
// check games
if($x &lt; 10)
{
$x = "0" . $x . "";
}
if(isset($_POST["rdoGame" . $x . ""]))
{
// do whatever you want with each game right here
if($x != "1") {echo " ";}
//echo $_POST["rdoGame" . $x . ""] . "";
$strMember = $nick;
$strWeek = "01";
$strGame = $x;
$strSelection = $_POST["rdoGame" . $x . ""] . "";
$strTimeStamp = date("Ymd : His");
$int++;
echo $int . " number.";
$varSelection[$int] = array_fill($x, $strSelection);
}
}
echo $varSelection[0][0] . " - " . $varSelection[0][1] . "&lt;br&gt;";
echo $varSelection[1][0] . " - " . $varSelection[1][1] . "&lt;br&gt;";
echo $varSelection[2][0] . " - " . $varSelection[2][1] . "&lt;br&gt;";

echo "&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;";
mysql_close($conMySQL);
}
}[/php]


See the mess I've created? lol

If I make three selections, the three 'echo' at the bottom there should show those three selections as ...

01 - Steelers
02 - Dolphins
03 - Broncos


But for some sweet reason, the array's index is not incrementing.
Rss Feed 
Users browsing this topic
Guest
10 Pages«<56789>»
Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error


Fan Shout
uffda udfa (10m) : Golden Tate pushed off big time in Seattle. I said it then.
Zero2Cool (11m) : Max McCaffrey Added to Roster, J.C. Tretter Subtracted
Zero2Cool (13m) : Read what I said about Hail Mary plays and referees letting players play. Got it? Good.
Zero2Cool (14m) : I absolutely would not. Don't dare presume to speak for me. WTF.
uffda udfa (17m) : Had it been other way around I would've been screaming and so would u.
uffda udfa (42m) : It's just true. I try hard to see it and tell it like it is. Was OPI.
Zero2Cool (3h) : which is of course ok, i just personally see it as weird.
Zero2Cool (3h) : Just odd that a Packers fan points out when Packers perceived to get away with something, yet ignore opponent. Weird.
Zero2Cool (3h) : Packers added RB Christine Michael (back) to the injury report as questionable
uffda udfa (4h) : Not diminishing anything. He got away with OPI. Didn't notice before. Was in airport.
Zero2Cool (6h) : Bahahahahahahha GO PACK GO!!!!
Zero2Cool (6h) : when you're buying your Super Bowl LI Champion gear, be critical of that too!
Zero2Cool (6h) : keep trying to diminish what the Packers have done and ...
Zero2Cool (6h) : one... that's just how it goes. They let the players play. But go ahead
Zero2Cool (6h) : Everyone knows on the hail mary type passes, those little shoves won't be called. Think replacement refs 2012. So, no did not get away with
Dulak (6h) : ya I think they mentioned that U U ... but you see this alot - even in the dallas game they pushed off at least 1 time (they as in dallas)
uffda udfa (12h) : Just rewatched Cobbs hail mary catch in slo mo...he should've been flagged for OPI. Got away with one.
uffda udfa (15h) : Nope. I like Gus.
beast (15h) : Did you want Anthony Lynn as HC? Cushion Bradley was going to follow Lynn where ever.
uffda udfa (16h) : Gus Bradley is new DC in SD/LA. I would've loved to had him here in Green Bay.
uffda udfa (20h) : It's just fine.
musccy (20h) : 5 questionable Packers, none for Falcons. Not good.
uffda udfa (20h) : Jordy not listed as OUT or DOUBTFUL. Questionable on injury report.
uffda udfa (21h) : This is the 6th straight game we've faced someone for the 2nd time. We learn.
uffda udfa (22h) : Aaron: I like our role. I like our chances. (said he relishes being an underdog)
uffda udfa (22h) : Aaron alludes to fake crowd noise at Georgia Dome for Sunday.
uffda udfa (22h) : So, to recap. Losing streak "just the way it is", winning streak "astronomical feat". #Balanced
uffda udfa (22h) : Ironically, he called the turn around "astronomical" not just the way it is in the NFL. #Don'tMissTheIrony
uffda udfa (22h) : Ted tells Demovsky the Packers weren't underachieving when 4-6. Just the way it is in the NFL????
Zero2Cool (20-Jan) : Only time I recall getting annoyed is when they beat a single topic over and over and over.
Pack93z (20-Jan) : Most yes... Heller seems to get it more so... diversity in his coverage... but seemingly can highlight the pressing issues properly.
Zero2Cool (20-Jan) : I'm kind of in the boat that they all are babblying boonies.
Pack93z (20-Jan) : God bless it... Bill Michaels can be a stubborn SOB at times... love his Packers coverage, still think he is a buffoon at times.
Zero2Cool (20-Jan) : Jordy Nelson Named PFWA Comeback Player of the Year
Zero2Cool (20-Jan) : Carter is predicitng the end is in ATL for Packers.
Please sign in to use Fan Shout

2016 Packers Schedule
Sunday, Sep 11 @ 12:00 PM
at Jaguars
Sunday, Sep 18 @ 7:30 PM
at Vikings
Sunday, Sep 25 @ 12:00 PM
LIONS
Sunday, Oct 2 @ 12:00 AM
BYE
Sunday, Oct 9 @ 7:30 PM
GIANTS
Sunday, Oct 16 @ 3:25 PM
COWBOYS
Thursday, Oct 20 @ 7:25 PM
BEARS
Sunday, Oct 30 @ 3:25 PM
at Falcons
Sunday, Nov 6 @ 3:25 PM
COLTS
Sunday, Nov 13 @ 12:00 PM
at Titans
Sunday, Nov 20 @ 7:30 PM
at Redskins
Monday, Nov 28 @ 7:30 PM
at Eagles
Sunday, Dec 4 @ 12:00 PM
TEXANS
Sunday, Dec 11 @ 3:25 PM
SEAHAWKS
Sunday, Dec 18 @ 12:00 PM
at Bears
Saturday, Dec 24 @ 12:00 PM
VIKINGS
Sunday, Jan 1 @ 7:30 PM
at Lions

Think About It
Think About It

Recent Topics
13m / Green Bay Packers Talk / Zero2Cool

23m / Green Bay Packers Talk / hardrocker950

29m / Green Bay Packers Talk / mi_keys

34m / Green Bay Packers Talk / uffda udfa

1h / Green Bay Packers Talk / buckeyepackfan

4h / Green Bay Packers Talk / wpr

12h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

14h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

18h / Green Bay Packers Talk / luigis

19h / Green Bay Packers Talk / uffda udfa

20h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

21h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

21h / Green Bay Packers Talk / The_Green_Ninja

23h / Green Bay Packers Talk / uffda udfa

20-Jan / Green Bay Packers Talk / sschind


Packers Headlines