Join Our Green Bay Packers Interactive Community!

We have been providing fans with the best source of Packers information since 2006!
Your participation is greatly anticipated!
Login or Register.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Zero2Cool  
#1 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 4:52:41 AM(UTC)
Zero2Cool

Rank: Legend

Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI

Applause Given: 1,955
Applause Received: 2,186

Originally Posted by: OlHoss1884 Go to Quoted Post
What I wish would happen is that those that benefitted from the play, or those who support their side of it, would admit that they got away with it. I have done so with the Majkowski pass that beat the Bears in '89.


That wasn't an illegal play.

UserPostedImage
Offline OlHoss1884  
#2 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 5:29:02 AM(UTC)
OlHoss1884

Rank: 5th Round Draft Pick

United States
Joined: 5/8/2013(UTC)
Location: Waukegan, IL

Applause Given: 58
Applause Received: 164

Originally Posted by: Zero2Cool Go to Quoted Post
That wasn't an illegal play.



It was because a) he was entirely over the line of scrimmage b) the ball was over the line of scrimmage and c) he had stepped over the line of scrimmage. Under all interpretations of the rule, he got away with it. To add fuel to the fire, the replay rules did not have the time limit on them that they do today, but the rule was still clear evidence that the call should be reversed (it was ruled illegal on the field) and it took 8 minutes to decide to reverse it. As much as I would glad to win the game and see Mike Ditka turn purple over it, there is little doubt to unbiased observers that the Packers won on a bad call in that game.

As always, the best way to avoid losing on a bad call is not to be in a position to lose on a bad call, but it doesn't mean that the call wasn't terrible or didn't have a monumental impact on the outcome. In the case of the Fail Mary, the call was blown, the officiating of the ruling on the field was blown, the replay review was blown, and the league even admitted they missed a clear OPI call on Tate.

"The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits" --Albert Einstein
Offline Zero2Cool  
#3 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 6:02:26 AM(UTC)
Zero2Cool

Rank: Legend

Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI

Applause Given: 1,955
Applause Received: 2,186

Originally Posted by: OlHoss1884 Go to Quoted Post
It was because a) he was entirely over the line of scrimmage b) the ball was over the line of scrimmage and c) he had stepped over the line of scrimmage. Under all interpretations of the rule, he got away with it. To add fuel to the fire, the replay rules did not have the time limit on them that they do today, but the rule was still clear evidence that the call should be reversed (it was ruled illegal on the field) and it took 8 minutes to decide to reverse it. As much as I would glad to win the game and see Mike Ditka turn purple over it, there is little doubt to unbiased observers that the Packers won on a bad call in that game.


Wow, that is weird. I watched that game and the replay many years later and he didn't touch grass beyond the line of scrimmage, thus making the play legit. I will have to find that footage and check again.
UserPostedImage
Offline SINCITYCHEEZE  
#4 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 9:03:31 AM(UTC)
SINCITYCHEEZE

Rank: 5th Round Draft Pick

United States
Joined: 8/7/2008(UTC)

Applause Given: 162
Applause Received: 110

I got time for that. Let me help Zero out on this one. Here's the video.

Wisconsin Born, Packer Bred
UserPostedImage
Offline OlHoss1884  
#5 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 10:41:21 AM(UTC)
OlHoss1884

Rank: 5th Round Draft Pick

United States
Joined: 5/8/2013(UTC)
Location: Waukegan, IL

Applause Given: 58
Applause Received: 164

Sorry guys, in the video, the narrator says he's "clearly behind the line of scrimmage at the 15" but if you freeze it, his feet, his body and the ball are all past it. On top of which, the ruling on the field was that it was an illegal pass, and there is NO WAY that is clearly something that should be overturned. The only thing that can even marginally justify the amount of time it took to make the reversal is that they were debating how the rule defined what constituted being over the line, but again, if it is that close, it shouldn't have been overturned, and by any of the possible definitions, he was past the 15.

Now how is THAT for beating a dead horse?
"The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits" --Albert Einstein
Offline Zero2Cool  
#6 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 10:45:13 AM(UTC)
Zero2Cool

Rank: Legend

Yahoo! Fantasy Football - Gold: 2009FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Silver: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2011ESPN NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2010Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 10/13/2006(UTC)
Location: Green Bay, WI

Applause Given: 1,955
Applause Received: 2,186

Originally Posted by: OlHoss1884 Go to Quoted Post
Sorry guys, in the video, the narrator says he's "clearly behind the line of scrimmage at the 15" but if you freeze it, his feet, his body and the ball are all past it. On top of which, the ruling on the field was that it was an illegal pass, and there is NO WAY that is clearly something that should be overturned. The only thing that can even marginally justify the amount of time it took to make the reversal is that they were debating how the rule defined what constituted being over the line, but again, if it is that close, it shouldn't have been overturned, and by any of the possible definitions, he was past the 15.

Now how is THAT for beating a dead horse?


The ball and body can be past the line of scrimmage, providing the thrower releases the ball prior to landing beyond the line of scrimmage. Did that happen? I'm asking seriously. I'm at work and can't really be analyzing video here lol


Edit, Hmm ... I need to re-read this apparently.

Article 2 Legal Forward Pass. http://static.nfl.com/st...Pass_BackPass_Fumble.pdf
The offensive team may make one forward pass from behind the line during each down. If the ball, whether in player possession or loose, crosses the line of scrimmage, a forward pass is not permissible, regardless of whether the ball returns behind the line of scrimmage before the pass is thrown.

Item 1: Illegal Passes. Any other forward pass by either team is illegal and is a foul by the passing team, including:

(a) A forward pass thrown when the passer is beyond the line of scrimmage.
Note: It is a forward pass from beyond the line of scrimmage if the passer’s entire body and the ball are beyond the line of scrimmage when the ball is released, whether the passer is airborne or touching the ground. The penalty for a forward pass thrown from beyond the line is enforced from the spot where the ball is released.

(b) A second forward pass thrown from behind the line of scrimmage.

(c) A forward pass thrown after the ball has crossed the line of scrimmage and has returned behind it.

(d) A forward pass thrown after there has been a change of possession.


Edit2, an article on Majik and Instant Replay game
http://www.jsonline.com/...ts/packers/57784427.html

Message modified by user Monday, July 1, 2013 12:44:26 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

UserPostedImage
Offline SINCITYCHEEZE  
#7 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 11:55:40 AM(UTC)
SINCITYCHEEZE

Rank: 5th Round Draft Pick

United States
Joined: 8/7/2008(UTC)

Applause Given: 162
Applause Received: 110

Originally Posted by: OlHoss1884 Go to Quoted Post
Sorry guys, in the video, the narrator says he's "clearly behind the line of scrimmage at the 15" but if you freeze it, his feet, his body and the ball are all past it. On top of which, the ruling on the field was that it was an illegal pass, and there is NO WAY that is clearly something that should be overturned. The only thing that can even marginally justify the amount of time it took to make the reversal is that they were debating how the rule defined what constituted being over the line, but again, if it is that close, it shouldn't have been overturned, and by any of the possible definitions, he was past the 15.

Now how is THAT for beating a dead horse?


Seeing how the line of scrimmage was the 14 yd line, I'd say he had at least a 1/2 yard cushion. Legal play. Ref's got it right on the review.

Wisconsin Born, Packer Bred
UserPostedImage
thanks Post received 1 applause.
yooperfan on 7/1/2013(UTC)
Offline texaspackerbacker  
#8 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 1:06:50 PM(UTC)
texaspackerbacker

Rank: 1st Round Draft Pick

Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Gold: 2014

United States
Joined: 3/4/2013(UTC)
Location: Texas

Applause Given: 453
Applause Received: 273

Originally Posted by: SINCITYCHEEZE Go to Quoted Post
Seeing how the line of scrimmage was the 14 yd line, I'd say he had at least a 1/2 yard cushion. Legal play. Ref's got it right on the review.



Yeah, you beat me to it. The official with the 4th down marker is (or should be) at the line of scrimmage - the 14, not the 15, which makes it clearly legal.

BTW, I thought THE Instant Reply game was 20 some years earlier when Jerry Kramer bulldozed the Dallas line and Bart sneaked into the frozen end zone.

Expressing the Good Normal Views of Good Normal Americans.
If Anything I Say Smacks of Extremism, Please Tell Me EXACTLY What.
Offline OlHoss1884  
#9 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 1:55:24 PM(UTC)
OlHoss1884

Rank: 5th Round Draft Pick

United States
Joined: 5/8/2013(UTC)
Location: Waukegan, IL

Applause Given: 58
Applause Received: 164

We can disagree on where the line was...but on a review looking at that film it is inconclusive, and therefore shouldn't have been overturned. I called it the 15 because that's what the newsguy called it in that clip, but obviously he's not necessarily right either. Thanks btw to whomever moved these posts to their own thread...they belonged here.
"The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits" --Albert Einstein
Offline Mucky Tundra  
#10 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 2:11:22 PM(UTC)
Mucky Tundra

Rank: 3rd Round Draft Pick

United States
Joined: 1/11/2013(UTC)
Location: Murray, Kentucky

Applause Given: 357
Applause Received: 440

Originally Posted by: Zero2Cool Go to Quoted Post


Edit2, an article on Majik and Instant Replay game
http://www.jsonline.com/...ts/packers/57784427.html


Quote:
"Mike Singletary walked up to me and whispered, 'Sorry, kid. Too bad it won't count,' " Majkowski said.


Laughing

Originally Posted by: texaspackerbacker Go to Quoted Post
Yeah, you beat me to it. The official with the 4th down marker is (or should be) at the line of scrimmage - the 14, not the 15, which makes it clearly legal.

BTW, I thought THE Instant Reply game was 20 some years earlier when Jerry Kramer bulldozed the Dallas line and Bart sneaked into the frozen end zone.



I've never heard the Ice Bowl called that. I do know after game Kramer said "Thank God for instant replay" since the replays of the sneak made him famous and he named his book after it.

I think it would be a shame if this picture didn't make its way into this thread.

UserPostedImage

Big Grin
May not have the best looking number...but it's the sexiest! -David Bakhtiari
UserPostedImage
Offline wpr  
#11 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 2:19:43 PM(UTC)
wpr

Rank: Hall of Famer

PackersHome NFL Pick'em - Gold: 2012PackersHome NFL Pick'em - Gold: 2013FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Bronze: 2013

United States
Joined: 8/8/2008(UTC)

Applause Given: 3,033
Applause Received: 1,468

Originally Posted by: OlHoss1884 Go to Quoted Post
We can disagree on where the line was...but on a review looking at that film it is inconclusive, and therefore shouldn't have been overturned. I called it the 15 because that's what the newsguy called it in that clip, but obviously he's not necessarily right either. Thanks btw to whomever moved these posts to their own thread...they belonged here.



Many sources state the LOS was the 14.
Quote:

Instant replay official Bill Parkinson's long-awaited ruling gave back to the Packers a game-tying, Don Majkowski-to-Sterling Sharpe touchdown pass. That 14-yard pass had seemingly tied the score at 13-13 with 32 seconds left. Or had it?


JSOnline


Quote:
With an apparent 14-yard touchdown strike from Don Majkowski to Sterling Sharpe, the Packers were about to win the game 14-13 against the stronger Bears, led by coach Mike Ditka. The referee ruled it no touchdown because Majkowski had crossed the line of scrimmage before passing to Sharpe.


bleacher report


Quote:
The winning drive was no waltz down Lambeau Field. Majkowski had two passes tipped at the line and four others fell incomplete. But he did connect on six attempts, saving the best, the 14-yarder to Sharpe, for last.


even the Chicago Tribune


Quote:
4th Packers Sterling Sharpe 14 yard pass from Don Majkowski (Chris Jacke kick) 13 14

best source is the box score

Ergo no penalty.

UserPostedImage

thanks Post received 1 applause.
Zero2Cool on 7/2/2013(UTC)
Offline porky88  
#12 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 2:46:48 PM(UTC)
porky88

Rank: Pro Bowl

FleaFlicker Fantasy Football - Gold: 2012Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2013Yahoo! NCAA March Madness - Silver: 2014

Joined: 4/26/2007(UTC)

Applause Given: 193
Applause Received: 397

I have the game. This reminds me that I've been trying to find time to watch it.
Offline Cheesey  
#13 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 2:58:38 PM(UTC)
Cheesey

Rank: Most Valuable Player

Joined: 7/28/2008(UTC)

Applause Given: 183
Applause Received: 412

Watching the replay, i think he wasn't past the LOS.

The game where the Packers "got away with one" was the game against the Baltimore Colts back in the early 1960's.
Don Chandler (i'm pretty sure it was him) clearly shanked a field goal, which the refs called "good".
It tied the game, and allowed the Packers to win in overtime.
That game was the one that made the NFL lenghten the goal posts by i believe 10 feet, to make it easier to tell if a FG was good or bad.
UserPostedImage
Offline Dexter_Sinister  
#14 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2013 6:10:17 PM(UTC)
Dexter_Sinister

Rank: 2nd Round Draft Pick

Joined: 6/12/2010(UTC)

Applause Given: 292
Applause Received: 266

The LOS is like the endzone in reverse. All of the ball and the player throwing the ball have to be beyond it in order for it to be illegal.

If the tape from Majkowski's shoe is still just touching the plane of the LOS, he technically isn't beyond it.

According to the rule, he was still not beyond the lOS.
I want to go out like my Grandpa did. Peacefully in his sleep.

Not screaming in terror like his passengers.
Rss Feed 
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error

Tweeter

Recent Topics
23m / Green Bay Packers Talk / wpr

1h / Green Bay Packers Talk / steveishere

3h / Green Bay Packers Talk / wpr

5h / Green Bay Packers Talk / yooperfan

6h / Green Bay Packers Talk / OlHoss1884

12h / Green Bay Packers Talk / nerdmann

12h / Green Bay Packers Talk / nerdmann

12h / Green Bay Packers Talk / nerdmann

12h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

24-Oct / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

24-Oct / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

24-Oct / Green Bay Packers Talk / nerdmann

24-Oct / Green Bay Packers Talk / nerdmann

24-Oct / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

24-Oct / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast