Zero2Cool
13 years ago
http://packersnews.greenbaypressgazette.com/article/20110207/PKR07/110207133/Mike-Vandermause-column-McCarthy-plans-to-stick-with-Packers 

Less than a month after winning his final championship with the Green Bay Packers, Vince Lombardi stepped down as head coach.

Less than two years after guiding the Packers to a Super Bowl championship, Mike Holmgren departed for a job with the Seattle Seahawks.

In light of that team coaching history, there was good news for the Packers on Monday, the day after they captured the Lombardi Trophy by defeating the Pittsburgh Steelers 31-25 in Super Bowl XLV.

Coach Mike McCarthy, who matched Holmgren by leading the Packers to a championship in his fifth season, said he isnt going anywhere.

I would hope this is my last job, said McCarthy during the traditional Monday morning Super Bowl post-game press conference with the victorious head coach. Im a builder and we have built something special. This program was built the right way, has quality people in Aaron Rodgers and all the way through that are going to lead this football team for a long time. So I would definitely hope this is my last job.

McCarthy looked a little tired after a long night of celebrating the Packers first championship in 14 years, but he couldnt hide a contented smile.

McCarthy clearly was the NFLs best coach this season. He led a team that was saddled with injuries to the mountaintop. Along the way he instilled confidence, refused to accept excuses, demanded accountability and never stopped trusting his players and their ability.

Mike doesnt like to hear this, but he is a players coach, said Rodgers on Monday at the Super Bowl MVP press conference. He thinks theres a negative connotation there. To me it means he allows for input from his guys on a number of different levels and obviously he has final say, but he allows his staff to coach, he allows the players to have input.