MintBaconDrivel
9 years ago

"I’ve now been broadcasting longer than I played and I feel like I’m just beginning to get it a little bit," said Fox NFL analyst Troy Aikman, who completes his 13th NFL season with Fox this Sunday in Seattle when he calls the NFC Championship (kickoff is 3:05 p.m. ET) alongside Joe Buck. “I’ve always known football. I’ve always known the quarterback position. I’ve always known offense and defense and all the things I’m being paid to talk about. But as far as the business called television, I’m just now seeing the improvements."

As part of an extended conversation with SI.com, the 48-year-old NFL Hall of Famer addressed a number of topics, including nearly leaving the profession in 2008 because it wasn’t satisfying him; how his work gets reviewed; why Buck faces the criticism he does; the reckless insinuation by now-ESPN host Skip Bayless that he was gay; and what he projects for the immediate future of the Cowboys:

How much do you currently enjoy broadcasting?