Pack93z
  • Pack93z
  • Select Member Topic Starter
15 years ago
I firmly believe this article is spot on.. things I have been saying for about 2 years.. normally not a big fan of the Wisconsin writers.. however this piece is money as far as the online goes.. I think he might be a bit to harsh on Rodgers at this point.. some of that blame falls to the playcalling change.

Now, don't read any more into it than, we need to change the way we are thinking about drafting, selecting and developing our offensive line.. this is in no way a "Ted is crap" thread.. it is an honest assessment of one of the biggest issues on this team. Nothing more... nothing less.

http://www.madison.com/wsj/mad/sports/313968 

Oates: Offensive line's problems start with Thompson
By TOM OATES
608-252-6172
toates@madison.com

Even Ted Thompson's harshest critics have to admit the Green Bay Packers' general manager has built a fairly solid roster in his four years on the job.

The receivers and defensive backs rank among the NFL's best. The linebackers and running backs are sound. The defensive line, when healthy, has been a strength. And though Thompson's exit strategy for quarterback Brett Favre blew up in his face, he at least had a capable replacement in Aaron Rodgers.

However, the one problem Thompson has never solved is the offensive line.

Since Thompson allowed guards Mike Wahle and Marco Rivera to walk in free agency after the 2005 season, the shaky status of the line has held back an offense that has many weapons yet still plays sporadically.

Indeed, Thompson's strategy of drafting small, athletic linemen from obscure schools in the middle rounds and then trying to develop them into blockers for coach Mike McCarthy's zone running scheme has failed miserably.

For a team that often plays in wintery conditions, a physical running game is a necessity. But other than the second half of last season, when the Packers faced a series of lousy defenses, they've been unable to run consistently.