Zero2Cool
13 years ago
What are your thoughts about it? I just got done reading and article on CNET and some of their comments.

I used to feel for those who had their work stolen, and the financial loss. However, what about the other side of it? What if the downloader never intended on purchasing that CD, that movie, that software, etc in the first place? How many downloaders fall into that category, then end up purchasing said media because of it's quality?

It costs less than .25 to make a CD, that includes everything start to finish. How much does it cost us to purchase it? Something like $15 right?

The cost for a DVD is I'm the same range and costs in the same ballpark to make.

A Blu-Ray movie is twice the cost of a DVD and costs in the $20 range.

Going to a movie is atleast $8 bucks per ticket. A soda is $6, popcorn is $5.50 ... etc ...

As a software developer myself this may sound stupid, but even software is over priced.

I used to think 'man, if punks wouldnt pirate, things would be cheaper'. Then I look back, and realize it's always been priced outrageously.

I'd go to the movies, buy more CD's/DVD's/Blu-Ray's, and software if it was priced more reasonably for the average person.

What's your thoughts on this? There's so many angles that I can't even comprehend.
UserPostedImage
TheEngineer
13 years ago
It was never about the physical good, but about the licence to view or personally use the intellectual property contained on the DVD. This is why to purchase a blank CD they're something like $10 for a 50 pack.