Dulak
13 years ago
Interesting topic VLS ... I also have been 'debating' things in my mind about religion in general lately.

My background is mainly a christian upbringing (church on and off) and dated a girl back in highschool/college and attended a jehovas witness church for 1 1/2 years.

Coming to england has been a pretty interesting experience ... recently I had a discussion about a muslim about some things
guy was married and had a wife seemed pretty normal - he said some things that stuck out.
1. that is was good that the towers got hit, 2. I asked him why do muslims pray 5x a day and he said thats just what they do.

I am also living with a jewish friend and observing how he is ...

I also talked with a hindu guy and read a few books on the bagadagita (spelling) and he told me the general gist of the religion etc ... IMO I found inconsistancies with it.

To be honest from my limited understanding of religion and their attempting to do works to be right with a God; I find interesting ...
IMO it seems all of these relgions and many more are based on men; not god. They may say it has come from god; but in essence it always dates back to some men and it starts from there ...

this brings me to the question weather any man has the knowledge to be a greater bringing of life to me then myself ...

When I see various people from various relgions interacting such as a group of muslims talking to each other or my friend talking about how he and his jewish friends are or even hindus speaking with each other; often what I see is the general togetherness that they experience and the common bonds of that particular religion is what brings them together. Know what I mean?
Its not that our relgion is right and this is why we are talking its we share some commonalities and this is why we are sharing together.