Zero2Cool
15 years ago
That's what I was saying in the chat too. That IronMan is not often wrong and that's why I was questioning my own understanding of what I was reading in black and white. Which also is the problem I have, not the outcome of the play or the review, it's the rules themselves that bother me.

Get this ..
[ul]Rule 8,
Section 1,
Article 3,
Item 1[/ul]

That means, to me, there is several sections for each rule, with an article for each section and an item for each section of each rule. That is WAY too much crap for my liking.
UserPostedImage
4PackGirl
15 years ago
i still think it's a touchdown. they are interpreting the rule because it's so f'd up it doesn't give a clear, concise answer.

what a joke this league is becoming. can't touch the qb, can't graze the facemask, can't even appear to enjoy a touchdown, can't really tackle someone hard without a fine, etc... (i know this has nothing to do with the jennings td - just ranting, that's all)
Pack93z
15 years ago


The issue with going to ground is if you catch it and you are being tackled as you catch it as was the case with that Oakland receiver.

"IronMan" wrote:




If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play, or in the end zone.

"mi_keys" wrote:



Rule 8. Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 



This is correct if the players hasn't established "control"... control is dictated with two steps.

So to me, it all comes down to whether Jennings has control of the ball and makes two steps.. which to me he does.

The rule you have highlighted is for a player that hasn't established control prior to hitting the turf... IE Louis Murphy.

They didn't change the control ruling.. just the control factor of a player going to the ground.

Hence the confusion that the refs are having with the ruling.. this isn't the first call being challenged with the variable added to the rule this past off season.
"The oranges are dry; the apples are mealy; and the papayas... I don't know what's going on with the papayas!"
wils0646
15 years ago


The issue with going to ground is if you catch it and you are being tackled as you catch it as was the case with that Oakland receiver.

"pack93z" wrote:




If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play, or in the end zone.

"IronMan" wrote:



Rule 8. Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 

"mi_keys" wrote:



This is correct if the players hasn't established "control"... control is dictated with two steps.

So to me, it all comes down to whether Jennings has control of the ball and makes two steps.. which to me he does.

The rule you have highlighted is for a player that hasn't established control prior to hitting the turf... IE Louis Murphy.

They didn't change the control ruling.. just the control factor of a player going to the ground.

Hence the confusion that the refs are having with the ruling.. this isn't the first call being challenged with the variable added to the rule this past off season.



From Bedard:

According to a league spokesman, referee Mike Carey correctly applied Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) correctly when it came to Greg Jennings' non-touchdown against the Chicago Bears:

"If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."

The timing of when contact was made by Bears CB Charles Tillman was the determining factor.

"The key is that the receiver was contacted by the defender before he got both feet down so he is therefore considered to be going to the ground and has to hold on to the ball throughout the whole process," the spokesman said.



It still makes the ruling confusing. What happens if the player is contacted before for 3-4-5 steps with the ball. I see no reason why they'd call it incomplete there.
The Pack Will Be Back.
Pack93z
15 years ago


The issue with going to ground is if you catch it and you are being tackled as you catch it as was the case with that Oakland receiver.

"wils0646" wrote:




If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play, or in the end zone.

"pack93z" wrote:



Rule 8. Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 

"IronMan" wrote:



This is correct if the players hasn't established "control"... control is dictated with two steps.

So to me, it all comes down to whether Jennings has control of the ball and makes two steps.. which to me he does.

The rule you have highlighted is for a player that hasn't established control prior to hitting the turf... IE Louis Murphy.

They didn't change the control ruling.. just the control factor of a player going to the ground.

Hence the confusion that the refs are having with the ruling.. this isn't the first call being challenged with the variable added to the rule this past off season.

"mi_keys" wrote:



From Bedard:

According to a league spokesman, referee Mike Carey correctly applied Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) correctly when it came to Greg Jennings' non-touchdown against the Chicago Bears:

"If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."

The timing of when contact was made by Bears CB Charles Tillman was the determining factor.

"The key is that the receiver was contacted by the defender before he got both feet down so he is therefore considered to be going to the ground and has to hold on to the ball throughout the whole process," the spokesman said.



It still makes the ruling confusing. What happens if the player is contacted before for 3-4-5 steps with the ball. I see no reason why they'd call it incomplete there.



If that is the interpretation.. then it is the silliest damn thing I ever read.. once the player has established control.. it is a catch.. contact or not.

Sometimes the competition committee is too ambiguous in the ruling.. or they should just leave the rules that have worked for 50 years in tact..

My understanding when reading the rule is this ground contact factor is for a player that is still establishing control.. IMO.. Jennings established it with three steps with a secured ball..

The source, IMO.. is covering for a mistake.. or increasing the drag net on this.. a piss poor job of isolating when the ground comes into play.

On your comment.. I agree.. if they are using this ground ruling on clear catches.. what stops a player or team from challenging a fumble within 3 to 5 steps after the catch is made.. on can refer back to this ruling.

Hence why the control factor is, as I understand it, separate from this rule if the player has established control already.. verses a player in the act of gaining control.
"The oranges are dry; the apples are mealy; and the papayas... I don't know what's going on with the papayas!"
dhazer
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"dhazer" wrote:






Damn i can never get any credit or maybe that most of the posters have me on ignore but i stated that way back on page 3 😛
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
Pack93z
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"dhazer" wrote:






Damn i can never get any credit or maybe that most of the posters have me on ignore but i stated that way back on page 3 :P

"dhazer" wrote:



It is still invalid as the first time you brought it up.. if a player establishes control prior to going to the ground.. this ruling doesn't come into effect..
"The oranges are dry; the apples are mealy; and the papayas... I don't know what's going on with the papayas!"
dhazer
15 years ago
people have to remember these refs probably have 5-8 different angels to see the play and can go frame by frame, unlike us. I still have to watch the replay and try and stop it and see
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
Pack93z
15 years ago

people have to remember these refs probably have 5-8 different angels to see the play and can go frame by frame, unlike us. I still have to watch the replay and try and stop it and see

"dhazer" wrote:



They only have access to the TV replays.. so how is that different than what we seen.. albeit, Fox didn't replay it many times.
"The oranges are dry; the apples are mealy; and the papayas... I don't know what's going on with the papayas!"
Zero2Cool
15 years ago

people have to remember these refs probably have 5-8 different angels to see the play and can go frame by frame, unlike us. I still have to watch the replay and try and stop it and see

"dhazer" wrote:



Are you sure about this? I read somewhere, need to find it again, that they have the same views we see on TV, but can choose which one to review when they want. Like, show me angle 1 again, slower, etc ...
UserPostedImage
Fan Shout
Zero2Cool (58m) : Had Celebration of Life for my uncle up north. wicked rain hope it dont come south
Mucky Tundra (3h) : THE GREEN BAY PACKERS ARE PLAYING FOOTBALL TONIGHT!!!!!! THIS IS NOT A DRILL!!!!
Zero2Cool (4h) : Woo-hoo
TheKanataThrilla (4h) : NFL Network is broadcasting the game tonight, but not in Canada. Not sure why as no local television is showing the game.
beast (8-Aug) : But the Return from IR designations had to be applied by the 53 man cutdown.
beast (8-Aug) : It's a new rule, so it's not clear, but my understanding was that they could be IR'd at any time
Mucky Tundra (8-Aug) : *had to be IRed at 53
Mucky Tundra (8-Aug) : beast, I thought the designate return from IR players had to be IR at cutdowns to 53, not before
beast (8-Aug) : It's a brand new rule, either last season or this season, prior, all pre-season IRs were done for the season
beast (8-Aug) : But the Packers would have to use one for their return from IR spots on him, when they cut down to 53.
beast (8-Aug) : I think the NFL recently changed the IR rules, so maybe the season might not be over for OL Glover.
Zero2Cool (8-Aug) : Packers star Howton, first NFLPA prez, dies at 95 😔
dfosterf (8-Aug) : Apparently it is too complicated for several to follow your simple instructions, but I digress
dfosterf (8-Aug) : Zero- Did you see what I posted about Voice of Reason and his wife? She posted over at fleaflicker that they are both "In"
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : Well, not crazy, it makes sense. Crazy I didn't notice/find it earlier
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : it's crazy how one stored procedure to get data bogged everything down for speed here
dfosterf (7-Aug) : to herd cats or goldfish without a bowl. They reminded me of the annual assembly of our fantasy league
dfosterf (7-Aug) : out on a field trip, outfitting them with little yellow smocks. Most of the little folk were well behaved, but several were like trying
dfosterf (7-Aug) : Yesterday my wife and I spent the afternoon on the waterfront here in Alexandria, Va. A daycare company took about 15 three/four year olds
wpr (7-Aug) : seems faster. yay
dfosterf (7-Aug) : Wife of reason posted on the in/out thread on fleaflicker that both she and vor are in
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : This page was generated in 0.135 seconds.
Mucky Tundra (7-Aug) : Tbh, I can never tell the difference in speed unless it's completely shitting the bed
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : Sure does feel like site is more snappy
Zero2Cool (6-Aug) : I thought that was the Lions OL
Mucky Tundra (6-Aug) : Travis Glover placed on IR; seasons over for him
Zero2Cool (6-Aug) : found bad sql in database, maybe site faster now?
dfosterf (5-Aug) : I'm going to call that a good move.
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : Packers sign CB Corey Ballentine
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : I'm not sure how to kill the draft order just yet so it's not so confusing.
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : *to be able
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : and because it's not a dynasty league (which makes a lot more sense to be ability to trade picks)
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : Oh I know; I was just exploring and it blew my mind that you could trade picks because of the whole reordering thing
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : Zero, I think I preferred my offer: your 1st for my 15th rounder
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : Keep in mind, we do a draft reorder once all members locked in
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : You can have my 12th Rd for your 2nd round
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : Hey i didn't know we could trade picks in fantasy
Mucky Tundra (3-Aug) : Update: Rock has tried a cheese curd, promises it's not his last
Zero2Cool (3-Aug) : watch it!! lol
Mucky Tundra (3-Aug) : you're right, we never did leave, the site just went down :P
Mucky Tundra (3-Aug) : Rock claims to have never eaten a cheese curd
Zero2Cool (3-Aug) : We did not leave.
Mucky Tundra (3-Aug) : Family Night! WE ARE SO BACK!
Mucky Tundra (2-Aug) : To this day, I'm still miffed about his 4 TD game against Dallas on Thanksgiving going to waste
Martha Careful (2-Aug) : Congratulations Sterling Sharpe. He was terrific and I loved watching him play.
beast (2-Aug) : I believe it's technically against the CBA rules, but Jerry just calls it a simple unofficial chat... and somehow gets away with it.
beast (2-Aug) : Jerry Jones is infamous for ̶n̶e̶g̶o̶t̶i̶a̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ chatting with players one on one... and going around the agent.
Mucky Tundra (1-Aug) : Oo just saw a blurb saying that Dallas negotiated directly with Parsons and not through his agent
Mucky Tundra (1-Aug) : I assumed that both guys will get paid, just a matter of when or how we get there
Zero2Cool (1-Aug) : McLaurin nor Micah going anywhere. They will get money
Please sign in to use Fan Shout
2025 Packers Schedule
Sunday, Sep 7 @ 3:25 PM
LIONS
Thursday, Sep 11 @ 7:15 PM
COMMANDERS
Sunday, Sep 21 @ 12:00 PM
Browns
Sunday, Sep 28 @ 7:20 PM
Cowboys
Sunday, Oct 12 @ 3:25 PM
BENGALS
Sunday, Oct 19 @ 3:25 PM
Cardinals
Sunday, Oct 26 @ 7:20 PM
Steelers
Sunday, Nov 2 @ 12:00 PM
PANTHERS
Monday, Nov 10 @ 7:15 PM
EAGLES
Sunday, Nov 16 @ 12:00 PM
Giants
Sunday, Nov 23 @ 12:00 PM
VIKINGS
Thursday, Nov 27 @ 12:00 PM
Lions
Sunday, Dec 7 @ 12:00 PM
BEARS
Sunday, Dec 14 @ 3:25 PM
Broncos
Friday, Dec 19 @ 11:00 PM
Bears
Friday, Dec 26 @ 11:00 PM
RAVENS
Saturday, Jan 3 @ 11:00 PM
Vikings
Recent Topics
3h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

8-Aug / Around The NFL / Zero2Cool

8-Aug / Fantasy Sports Talk / packerfanoutwest

8-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

7-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

5-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

4-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / bboystyle

3-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

3-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

3-Aug / Feedback, Suggestions and Issues / Zero2Cool

2-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

2-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / wpr

28-Jul / Random Babble / Zero2Cool

28-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

28-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

Headlines
Copyright © 2006 - 2025 PackersHome.com™. All Rights Reserved.