Greg C.
15 years ago
Somebody asked Tom Pelissero of the Green Bay Press Gazette about this play, and he provided a possible explanation. I don't buy it, but maybe this is how the officals saw it:

"It's a gray area, but here's how I interpret it -- if the defender makes contact with the player before he has two feet in, then that player is "going to the ground." So, that Tillman was on his back with only one foot down meant Jennings had to maintain possession to the ground. If Jennings took two steps and then Tillman hit him, different story."
blank
Nonstopdrivel
15 years ago
Actually, that makes complete sense to me. Thanks for that explanation.

By the way, I have been asking these questions because I couldn't see the play; I had to listen to the game on the radio.
UserPostedImage
dhazer
15 years ago
The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
Pack93z
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"dhazer" wrote:



That says nothing of establishing control based on a "football move or two steps"... that is for a player that is just coming down with the ball.. once the player establishes control.. two feet or "makes a football" move it is considered possession and control..
"The oranges are dry; the apples are mealy; and the papayas... I don't know what's going on with the papayas!"
dhazer
15 years ago
Well Jennings did not make a football move and he did end up on the ground thus it is the correct call




here is the closest thing to it he had 2 feet down and control but didnt maintain the ball incomplete pass


[youtube]HHldeWb83XE[/youtube]
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"dhazer" wrote:



The bolded part is what I found most interesting, considering contact with an opponent was the main reason they nullified possession + 3 steps and 1 toe drag.
UserPostedImage
dhazer
15 years ago
does anyone have a video of the play so we can watch it again?
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
Zero2Cool
15 years ago

if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass '


And it was caught when his second foot hit the ground and he had possession an was not touched.
UserPostedImage
buckeyepackfan
15 years ago

Well Jennings did not make a football move and he did end up on the ground thus it is the correct call




here is the closest thing to it he had 2 feet down and control but didnt maintain the ball incomplete pass


[youtube]HHldeWb83XE[/youtube]

"dhazer" wrote:



Nope, not even close, Murphy stayed in the end zone, and was hit while catching the ball, he has to keep control throughout.

Jennings had 2 feet down, then a 3rd went out of the endzone that is when the defender swatted the ball.

Like I said earlier, to much confusion with interpretation of the rule, next time it happens I will bet it is called a TD.
I was addicted to The Hokey Pokey, but I turned myself around!
buckeyepackfan
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"MassPackersFan" wrote:



The bolded part is what I found most interesting, considering contact with an opponent was the main reason they nullified possession + 3 steps and 1 toe drag.

"dhazer" wrote:



That is not the rule that should apply in this case, although it does look like that is what they made their judgement on.

Jennings never lost contol UNTIL HE WAS OUT OF THE ENDZONE, as soon as his second foot hit, the play should have been over,since it was in the endzone and was a td.

My thinking is this..we have all seen it a 100 times a player is hit at the goal line and extends the ball over the goal line as soon as the ball breaks the plane of the endzone with the player in control it is a TD, doesn't matter if a defender knocks it out of his hands, the instant he breaks the plane with the ball the play is over. As soon as GJ's 2nd foot touched the play should have been over.

Again interpetation of the rule...it is too vague, the call will be different next time it happens.
I was addicted to The Hokey Pokey, but I turned myself around!
Fan Shout
dfosterf (1h) : Just gotta figure out how.
dfosterf (1h) : Could have been a worse start, so there is that.
beast (1h) : Yeah, someone tell the Packers football season has started, seems like they weren't ready for it
Mucky Tundra (2h) : Sooooooo many penalties
Mucky Tundra (2h) : It may only be preseason, but this game is a trip to the dentist
Zero2Cool (2h) : Packers do bad -- FREAK OUT!!!!!!
Zero2Cool (2h) : Packers do good -- eh only preseason
dfosterf (2h) : Well that half was fun
Zero2Cool (4h) : Great, zayne is down
Zero2Cool (4h) : 13 minutes away from kickkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkoffff
Zero2Cool (6h) : Had Celebration of Life for my uncle up north. wicked rain hope it dont come south
Mucky Tundra (8h) : THE GREEN BAY PACKERS ARE PLAYING FOOTBALL TONIGHT!!!!!! THIS IS NOT A DRILL!!!!
Zero2Cool (9h) : Woo-hoo
TheKanataThrilla (9h) : NFL Network is broadcasting the game tonight, but not in Canada. Not sure why as no local television is showing the game.
beast (8-Aug) : But the Return from IR designations had to be applied by the 53 man cutdown.
beast (8-Aug) : It's a new rule, so it's not clear, but my understanding was that they could be IR'd at any time
Mucky Tundra (8-Aug) : *had to be IRed at 53
Mucky Tundra (8-Aug) : beast, I thought the designate return from IR players had to be IR at cutdowns to 53, not before
beast (8-Aug) : It's a brand new rule, either last season or this season, prior, all pre-season IRs were done for the season
beast (8-Aug) : But the Packers would have to use one for their return from IR spots on him, when they cut down to 53.
beast (8-Aug) : I think the NFL recently changed the IR rules, so maybe the season might not be over for OL Glover.
Zero2Cool (8-Aug) : Packers star Howton, first NFLPA prez, dies at 95 😔
dfosterf (8-Aug) : Apparently it is too complicated for several to follow your simple instructions, but I digress
dfosterf (8-Aug) : Zero- Did you see what I posted about Voice of Reason and his wife? She posted over at fleaflicker that they are both "In"
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : Well, not crazy, it makes sense. Crazy I didn't notice/find it earlier
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : it's crazy how one stored procedure to get data bogged everything down for speed here
dfosterf (7-Aug) : to herd cats or goldfish without a bowl. They reminded me of the annual assembly of our fantasy league
dfosterf (7-Aug) : out on a field trip, outfitting them with little yellow smocks. Most of the little folk were well behaved, but several were like trying
dfosterf (7-Aug) : Yesterday my wife and I spent the afternoon on the waterfront here in Alexandria, Va. A daycare company took about 15 three/four year olds
wpr (7-Aug) : seems faster. yay
dfosterf (7-Aug) : Wife of reason posted on the in/out thread on fleaflicker that both she and vor are in
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : This page was generated in 0.135 seconds.
Mucky Tundra (7-Aug) : Tbh, I can never tell the difference in speed unless it's completely shitting the bed
Zero2Cool (7-Aug) : Sure does feel like site is more snappy
Zero2Cool (6-Aug) : I thought that was the Lions OL
Mucky Tundra (6-Aug) : Travis Glover placed on IR; seasons over for him
Zero2Cool (6-Aug) : found bad sql in database, maybe site faster now?
dfosterf (5-Aug) : I'm going to call that a good move.
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : Packers sign CB Corey Ballentine
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : I'm not sure how to kill the draft order just yet so it's not so confusing.
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : *to be able
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : and because it's not a dynasty league (which makes a lot more sense to be ability to trade picks)
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : Oh I know; I was just exploring and it blew my mind that you could trade picks because of the whole reordering thing
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : Zero, I think I preferred my offer: your 1st for my 15th rounder
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : Keep in mind, we do a draft reorder once all members locked in
Zero2Cool (4-Aug) : You can have my 12th Rd for your 2nd round
Mucky Tundra (4-Aug) : Hey i didn't know we could trade picks in fantasy
Mucky Tundra (3-Aug) : Update: Rock has tried a cheese curd, promises it's not his last
Zero2Cool (3-Aug) : watch it!! lol
Mucky Tundra (3-Aug) : you're right, we never did leave, the site just went down :P
Please sign in to use Fan Shout
2025 Packers Schedule
Sunday, Sep 7 @ 3:25 PM
LIONS
Thursday, Sep 11 @ 7:15 PM
COMMANDERS
Sunday, Sep 21 @ 12:00 PM
Browns
Sunday, Sep 28 @ 7:20 PM
Cowboys
Sunday, Oct 12 @ 3:25 PM
BENGALS
Sunday, Oct 19 @ 3:25 PM
Cardinals
Sunday, Oct 26 @ 7:20 PM
Steelers
Sunday, Nov 2 @ 12:00 PM
PANTHERS
Monday, Nov 10 @ 7:15 PM
EAGLES
Sunday, Nov 16 @ 12:00 PM
Giants
Sunday, Nov 23 @ 12:00 PM
VIKINGS
Thursday, Nov 27 @ 12:00 PM
Lions
Sunday, Dec 7 @ 12:00 PM
BEARS
Sunday, Dec 14 @ 3:25 PM
Broncos
Friday, Dec 19 @ 11:00 PM
Bears
Friday, Dec 26 @ 11:00 PM
RAVENS
Saturday, Jan 3 @ 11:00 PM
Vikings
Recent Topics
4h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

8h / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

8-Aug / Around The NFL / Zero2Cool

8-Aug / Fantasy Sports Talk / packerfanoutwest

8-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

7-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

5-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

4-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / bboystyle

3-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

3-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

3-Aug / Feedback, Suggestions and Issues / Zero2Cool

2-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

2-Aug / Green Bay Packers Talk / wpr

28-Jul / Random Babble / Zero2Cool

28-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

Headlines
Copyright © 2006 - 2025 PackersHome.com™. All Rights Reserved.